‘So Now What?’

ha

Let me tell you something. That’s got to be one of my least favorite questions in the entire world. Most recently, because it’s all Haley has to ask for my head to explode. Generally though, it’s a lame question signaling to me that you can’t figure your own shit out.

Haley won’t just ask for what she wants. Rarely will she just ask for juice or for more or to be excused or anything it’s always “So…. Now what?” And my head explodes.

Dinnertime:
Haley: “Mommy, I’m all done with my dinner….” (at this point, I know she wants to be excused)
Me: “Yeah. I see that. And?”
Haley: “… annnnnd… I’m all done……. So now what?….’
Me, head exploding: “WHAT DO YOU WANT? WHAT HAPPENS EVERY NIGHT AFTER YOU’RE DONE WITH DINNER?”
Haley: “Oh. Well. I put my plate in the sink and get excused.”
Me, defeated: “WELL IF YOU KN–….. ugh just go do it.”

EVERY. DAMN. TIME.

Like, if you know what should happen, just ask for it.

Lunchtime:
I gave her two chips, one for each hand and then…
Haley: “Mommy? I finished both chips.”
Me: “Yeah? And?”
Haley: “So…. Now what?”
Me: “DO YOU WANT SOMETHING? JUST ASK FOR ITTTT!”
Haley: “Oh. Yeah. Can I have another chip please?”

REALLY?!

I don’t know why, but it’s just one of those things…

Leave a Reply

