What my Girls are Teaching me About Self Image. (RealTalk)

Haley has been kind of a pain in the ass about getting dressed lately, specifically when it comes to what fits her. She’s teeny and although she turned 4 in July, she still fits into some 3t things (especially her pants). Her closet is mostly 4t stuff except for  few pairs of jeans and a shirt of two which made the “it still fits her” cut when we packed away summer clothes and stuff she grew out of. (there’s a point to this)

A while back, she asked me about why her clothes are only 3 and why her sister is 12, even though sissy is smaller. Later, when I had to pack away one of her favorite shirts because it didn’t fit anymore, I told her that she was 4 and that meant that she got to wear 4t things. (I’m getting there…)

Yesterday, I was packing away the last of the clothes (you know, those few things that slip through because they were in the wash when you packed stuff away?) and I asked her if a pair of sweatpants still fit her or if they were too short (her waist fits into a lit of 3t, but they are to short on her) and she immediately just asked me what size the pants were. Now, the pants were a size 3t, and I knew that, but I knew she wore them, since they were in the wash. What got me was that she never even looked at the pants to see what I was asking her about, only for the size. Had I told her they were a 3, she would have said they were too small and packed them away, but instead, I asked responded with “I didn’t ask you what size they were, I asked you if they were too short.” And she responded with “no” (she later tried them on and they fit her fine)

This got me thinking: What is it about us that makes up focus so much on the size of our pants? It couldn’t possibly be drilled into her head that she’s got to fit into “her” size already, could it? Surely not. Her response really drove home the emphasis that even I put on my pants size. I’m sure this is just a phase or something I’m making a mountain out of, but it really got me thinking.

At what age do girls start feeling pressure to look a certain way or fit into a certain size? I highly doubt Haley didn’t want to keep 3t sweats because she was going to be made fun of for wearing them, but what if she did? When will she? I know that body image and confidence are sensitive subjects, and I know that she is old enough to hear someone call her fat and get upset by it, but is she old enough to care about what the scale or tag say?

Why do we have such an infatuation with numbers? Why can’t most people just go by how they feel? That’s something that I have been asking myself for the last day or so since I had this epiphany (the pink pants epiphany). If anyone is interested in weighing in, feel free.

Also, with the weekend closing in, I just want to remind everyone that my giveaway ends Monday at midnight!

Leave a Reply

