GoGo Squeez Me! (food for thought)

I fully support, and am a little jealous of, moms who make all their baby food and do the all-natural, organic, clean eating thing for their families (come feed mine?).  On the other hand, that’s just not me. At least most of it isn’t.

My kids love these GoGo Squeez applesauce pouches. Harper uses them and doesn’t squeeze them all over the house, Haley loves them, and they are a great way to get my kids to have healthy snack without a fight (and on the go!) The problem? They are SO expensive. MY solution?  I bought a box of them and a jar of applesauce and refilled them. It worked okay, but I couldn’t see through the case, so I couldn’t be sure they were clean (not a good idea).  Then, I went out looking for reusable pouches thinking they were going to be cheap. WRONG. Wal-Mart wanted over 7 dollars for ONE pouch, I don’t think so, Wal-Mart.

Then I found this. Infantino’s Fresh Squeezed refillable pouches. They actually have an entire line out for people who make their baby food. The line comes with the steamer, grinder/processor, the pouches, and the pouch filler station. Since I am done with the baby food stage, I didn’t really need all that, I just bought the pouches. Now let’s be clear here…. The pouches clearly say not to refill them so I’m pretty sure I can’t tell you to do that. I can tell you that I refill them. I can tell you that it works great. I can also tell you that I have yet to have a problem refilling them. But, I can also tell you that a box of 50 was only 16.99 at Target, so not refilling them isn’t really going to kill you.

The other thing that I like about doing this is that I can be as ambitious or lazy as I want. I have made both fruity and veggie batches of applesauce in the pouches. I actually used some sweet potato, carrot, and squash stage 2 baby food that I had left over and mixed it 50/50 with the applesauce and loaded the pouches with that. The kids loved it and didn’t even notice that thy were eating veggies! (win) I also just made a batch the other day with 1 part applesauce, 1 part thawed frozen mixed berries, and a little splash or orange juice, all blended up. Even I enjoyed that! If I’m feeling lazy, I can just use plain applesauce in there and call it a day. I usually make like 10 at a time for them and they go pretty quickly. You obviously don’t HAVE to use applesauce, you can do blended yogurt, smoothie, or if your kid likes veggies unlike mine, some other kinds of puree.

The time they can be out depends on what’s in them. I take them with me in the diaper bag when I’m out for the day. If where I’m going has a fridge, like a friend or family member’s house, then I stick it in there, if not, then so be it. I wouldn’t leave these out overnight since they aren’t sealed like the applesauce pouches you buy from the store.

If anyone has any ideas for veggie or other mixes, or if anyone has tried/uses/tries this, leave a comment and some feedback!

One thought on “GoGo Squeez Me! (food for thought)

  1. Pingback: You NEED To Plan Your Meals. Like, Really. |

Leave a Reply

