Time for Crafting (literally!) A Tutorial?!

This is probably one of the coolest crafts/projects I’ve done to date.

For Father’s Day this year, I made my husband’s gift from the kids. What did I make?

A freakin’ clock with the kids picture on it!

Yes.

Super simple stuff too. Here it is:

clock

How adorable is this? Scrunchy faces because well, look at them!

What I used: 

  • Mod Podge Photo Transfer Medium 
  • Mod Podge in gloss finish
  • ArtMinds Quartz Clock Movement Kit – 3/4 inch thickness (make sure to note the measurement of this against the piece of wood you are using!)
  • 1- 10″ x 10″ piece of square wood with a hole drilled in it for the clock mechanism (I found this by the clock parts in the craft store)
  • 1- 10″ x 10″ LASER COPY of my photo of choice (you NEED a laser copy, this will NOT NOT NOT work with an inkjet printer copy. Staples, and almost any other commercial copier service, uses laser printers, so these are still easy and cheap to get your hands on, don’t worry)
  • Sand paper (medium or light grade)
  • A medium size sponge brush

 

What I did:

  • First, I sanded down the edges of the wood to make it smoother and a little rounder around the corners, and sanded the front of the clock to make a more even surface.
  • Next, I took the image transfer medium and applied it EVENLY (not too liberally, but to too thin either) on the entire front of the clock (This part is really important) What I chose to do for this was to add a little brush texture to the edges of the wood so that the image would have a distressed look. You can go for that too, it looks awesome, but I would suggest trying this out as simply as you can first and then getting a little fancy with it. 🙂
  • Then I placed the image ink side down onto the wet transfer medium exactly where and how I wanted it to be. Be sure to get allllllllllllll of the bubbles and pockets of medium flattened and out from under the paper before you let this bad boy dry! I’m not sure if moving the image after placing it will mess anything up, but why chance it right?  Then I let the sucker dry overnight.
  • In the morning, I grabbed myself a wet paper town and laid it over the paper on the wood to get it all wet then used a much less wet, but still damp, towel to gently rub all the paper off of the wood, leaving me with a block of wood covered in adorable scrunchy faces! Be careful with this part. You do NOT want to go to town on the wood because you WILL take the image off and leave but white spots on the wood that will look like crap, I promise.
  • I covered the entire block with a pretty thin but even layer of gloss finish mod podge to seal the image to the wood and make this a little sure durable. It only took about 15 – 20 minutes for this to dry completely, but it did take over a week for it to completely harden and not have that slightly sticky, sort of tacky feeling to it. I know online it said to wait 2 to 3 weeks if you plan on using a mod podge item for storage or for something that will get dinged up (a tray bottom where you throw your keys or something maybe)
  • After this was dry, I added the year to the bottom because it WAS a Father’s Day gift after all.
  • Then, I grabbed the clock parts (which were a lot easier to assemble than I thought they were going to be). I only used the quarter points instead of all 12 spaces, but obviously all 12 are provided. I did have some trouble with the mechanism not fitting properly, and we did end up using the hands upside down because they didn’t seem to really work the way they were supposed to be, but it didn’t really affect the overall result.

 

My husband loved this and I did it in one day. This only cost about 20 bucks and it is a great project to do (fun, quick, and easy-ish) and it’s super personal and professional looking. I’m sure you would pay a reasonable amount more for this to be custom made.

I’m actually thinking of selling these!

Leave a Reply

