Shenanigans in Philadelphia.

Yesterday, it was Harper’s NICU follow up appointment at The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia (which is about 2 hours from here) and Mike happened to have work. Why is that important? Well because I had to take both kids myself on a 2 hour drive for an important developmental/medical assessment for the baby. Whatev. 

The appointment was long, yet mostly uneventful. Harper is doing great on all levels, the fee for parking is still discounted if you have an appointment there, and the cafeteria food in unparallelled. Haley wow’ed the social worker and doctor with her ability to keep quiet (in public) and how well she drew and wrote her name. She IS kinda good at writing her name and drawing. At least she’s good in public. 

The drive, however, was hilarious. Here are some quick highlights, since I’m short on time:

  • Harper cried for the last 45 minutes of the drive to the hospital. After ripping my hair out I frantically asked Haley what her sister wanted. Her response: “to get punched”
  • Haley was explaining to me how she remembered when I had her sister in my tummy and it was huge, like Papou’s (my dad – sorry dad!)
  • Haley fell asleep on the ride home and woke up occasionally when I hit a bump in the road, sang Shakira for a second or two, then fell back asleep. 
  • Harper throwing all the toys she could reach at her sister. 
  • The girls having a screaming match in the back of the car – and enjoying it.
  • Haley voicing her extreme dislike of traffic. 

Things I learned: 

  • Change the CD after a while.
  • Calling an idiot an idiot while driving MIGHT come with some hefty consequences. 
  • Bottles work better when they aren’t upside-down in the car seat.
  • I STILL HATE parking garages. 

Anyway, that was our adventure. Though we had fun, it was definitely stressful taking both of them and I will be sure to give more notice next time so that Mike can either come or I can grab someone to watch Haley. 

One thought on “Shenanigans in Philadelphia.

Leave a Reply

