Birthday (mis)Happenings.

There has been SO much going on lately that I’m not quite sure which way is up and which way is out the freakin’ door.

Harper’s first birthday just passed on Wednesday. Yay! She was sick with a fever for 103.8 and we spent it at the doctor’s. Boo. And there I am, freaking out thinking, “you WOULD spike a fever on the anniversary of the day you did the scariest thing ever to me. NO MORE BIRTHDAYS.” Back in the real world, it was only a fever. No symptoms. No helicopter ride to CHOP in Philly. No nothing. Just a fever. A fever that she happens to still have, day later, but a fever nonetheless. Her party was supposed to be tomorrow. Was. I had to cancel it today due to the fact that she is a limp pile of whiney with a temperature hovering around 103 still. So, happy first birthday, Harper. On the plus side, I definitely nailed the Cheerio cake is was setting out to make for her party (she might be sick, and she might have no party, but damnit the kid will still have her Cheerio cake!) Here’s the recipe if you’re interested. I didn’t have round cake pans, so (at my husband’s suggestion) I used a monkey bread (also known as a bundt pan with a higher price tag) and the Cheerio cake now is the shape of a Cheerio; BRILLIANT!

My take on the Cheerio First Birthday cake from Betty Crocker.

My take on the Cheerio First Birthday cake from Betty Crocker.

Cheerio cake shaped like a Cheerio; Cheerioception.

Cheerio cake shaped like a Cheerio; Cheerioception.

The Cheerio cake from an artsy point of view. Because I can.

The Cheerio cake from an artsy point of view. Because I can.

Also, it took almost an hour to place all those Cheerios.

In place of her party, my parents and brother are stopping by for some of this cake and some coffee in the morning and we’ll all just wish her a happy birthday and to feel better.

Am I rescheduling the party? Well. I don’t know. I kind of feel like a jerk for asking people to set aside time for me twice. Maybe I’ll do something small with some friends/family next weekend, if they are around. What would you do? Reschedule the party last-minute, or just say “F it” and plan for next year?

 

4 thoughts on “Birthday (mis)Happenings.

  1. Definitely a tough call… At least cancelling wasn’t a big problem…
    If time allows, do a little bbq thing for a smaller group like you suggested

Leave a Reply

