Spring Cleaning Time Is Upon Us! (How to Cope)

Keeping organized is no easy task. In my mind, I’m awesome at it, but in practice, I suck. During the very worst of my house freak out days (and they were bad) I was willing to try anything. I was scouring the internet for ideas on how to get and keep my house cleaned and I actually found some helpful (and not so helpful) things on there.

For those of you out there who are trying to gut your house and redo it with all new organized things (good luck with that), there are lists/charts that you can use to analyze each room and re-think what you have in there. There is also a room check-list that you can use to help break rooms down to multi-purpose them if you are low on space. I actually found those things (and a few others) on Oprah’s website. I know, I know, it’s Oprah…. but this is really helpful. Here’s the link! 

The other big thing that I found on here (the only one I actually stuck with) were these room cards. It was off one of those BS “Clean Your Entire House In 15 Minutes!” websites that I read mostly to make fun of. Well, it’s actually kind of true. What they should have called it was “How To Keep Your Entire House Clean In 15 Minutes”. You kind of have to start out with a reasonably clean space (spring cleaning time is upon us!). Here are the cards that I did for my house, your’s will obviously be a little (but not too much, probably) different.

Bedrooms are 18 minutes per room.

Bedrooms are 18 minutes per room.

The dining room is 8 minutes

The dining room is 8 minutes

The kitchen takes me 17 minutes

The kitchen takes me 17 minutes

My bathroom takes 8 minutes for the full bath, the half bath takes, well, about half the time :)

My bathroom takes 8 minutes for the full bath, the half bath takes, well, about half the time 🙂

The living room takes 13 minutes for me.

The living room takes 13 minutes for me.

There are other ways of doing this that I have seen since the birth of Pinterest, such as the weekly chart with everyday tasks then the “swing day” but I know swing day would mean sit on my ass day, so I stick with this. My goal is to get about 20 minutes worth of card cleaning, give or take, per day. For example, I do the living room (13 minutes) and the dining room (8 minutes) in one day, the bedrooms one day, the bathrooms one day, the kitchen another day… however you have to split the days up to get about 20 minutes worth of cleaning in per day. Once I stuck with this, I actually WAS able to just go for these cards, get all the little things done in about 20 or so minutes and then I do the “weekly” chores (on the bottom) on the days I used to do the whole cards.

The website I got the idea for these is somewhere on the internet, but I can’t remember where. Here is a website that sort of outlines the same premise. 

 

When you make your cards, think about what gets crappy in your house the most, the worst, the most often, the most noticeable  and so on.  Be realistic about your times. That site that I posted up there is a little quicker than the average person would get things done (sorry – it takes more than 2.5 minutes to clean a bathroom) That site seems more like what I call “the advanced stage” of keeping your house clean in 15 minutes. That’s what I was talking about when I said that I can get the whole house done in about 20 minutes (provided I have kept up on the cards), then the big things (the weeklies) I do on the days I used to do the whole cards.

It MIGHT sound a little confusing, or seem too daunting, BUT once you give it a chance, I swear it works out awesomely. I KNOW I’m not the only person who goes nuts with the “spring cleaning” thing only to have my house trashed in a month or less all over again. Well guys, cut the crap, get serious about being clean and organized at home, and just get it out of the way. I promise that once you get cleaning down as a habit, you hardly realize you’ve even done it and it’s a GIANT weight off your shoulders.

Leave a Reply

