How High Are You?

I came across this today on the internet and it terrified me:

According to the 2004 Guinness book of World Records, Michael Dougherty, at 12 years old in November 1995, was found to have a blood sugar level of 2,350 and was still conscious. The normal blood sugar range is between 80-120.

What?! And to think I got sick after 250 at a time in my life. Jeez. And 12 years old?! Woah. I actually came across this while looking up “diabulemia”. In summary, this is when type 1 diabetics deprive themselves of insulin and put their bodies into “starvation mode”. Oh, and at risk for DK. Sounds like a great idea, right? Hmm… I don’t understand some things I suppose.

 

Leave a Reply

