This CARE USB Bracelet Is Probably the Coolest Thing I Own…. Medically. (A Review!)

Alright, I have another medical alert bracelet to review and this one’s super awesome. This is actually the bracelet that I asked to review when I was given the opportunity to review the Sabona one as well. This one took me a bit longer because there were some things I wanted to test out before I could accurately post a review. Anyway, here goes…..

wpid-IMG_20130205_175042_466.jpgwpid-IMG_20130205_175332_468.jpg

Packaging: Standard plastic wrapping, instructions included (it didn’t come with that box, though)

This thing is super durable, super easy to use, and super versatile  It’s sporty and, while appears large and awkwardly shaped, is no more intrusive than a watch. There is the medical alert symbol on the front (which I wear on the inside of my wrist) and C.A.R.E on the back (shows on top of my wrist) and the inside reads, “Plug into a USB port for my medical history” and the website for the manufacturer, “www.MedicalHistoryBracelet.com”.

According to the website that sells these bad boys (well, one of them), these bracelets are waterproof despite their natural, um… hate for water… they ARE little USB drives and all. As far as the waterproof thing goes, I have submerged my arm in my fish tank with this on, I have washed dishes/bottles/kid cups with this on and it got all wet and there has been no problems so far. I still can’t bring myself to shower with it on, but I’m sure it wouldn’t be a problem seeing as how it’s been submerged and it was fine.

If you can’t tell from the picture, there is a medical alert symbol on the front of the bracelet (which comes in a bunch of different colors and styles, btw) and then that’s it as far as outward medical labels go. This is good because it’s not only versatile BUT it’s also private.

Okay, so once you get past the exterior (which is made of some cool latex-free plastic-y material), you get the actual programming (3.0 e-manager something or other), which looks like this (Oh yeah, there are screenshots)

This bracelet is totally plug in play, here's what someone would see when they plugged the bracelet into a computer.

This bracelet is totally plug n play, here’s what someone would see when they plugged the bracelet into a computer.

Care E-Manager Home Screen. Name, picture, public profile for medical professionals, and edit history for admin user.

Care E-Manager Home Screen. Name, picture, public profile for medical professionals, and edit history for admin user.

There are multiple profiles you can add and manage, therefore letting you keep your whole family's history on here if you want to.

There are multiple profiles you can add and manage, therefore letting you keep your whole family’s history on here if you want to.

Here's just a quick shot of some of the info you can put on here. I wanted to show how easy, clean, and user friendly the interface is.

Here’s just a quick shot of some of the info you can put on here. I wanted to show how easy, clean, and user friendly the interface is.

You can password protect the "edit history" part so that only "public view" is accessable. You can even pick which fields are public and which require a password to view (insurance info maybe?)

You can password protect the “edit history” part so that only “public view” is accessible. You can even pick which fields are public and which require a password to view (insurance info maybe?)

You can add files as well! I used this to add a PDF of my most recent blood work. You could use it for anything really. This field does NOT show up on the public view, so you would need a password to access it, but it's a GREAT feature.

You can add files as well! I used this to add a PDF of my most recent blood work. You could use it for anything really. This field does NOT show up on the public view, so you would need a password to access it, but it’s a GREAT feature.

This is what the "public view" is... it's a little empty because I, ya know, left my personal info off of here.

This is what the “public view” is… it’s a little empty because I, ya know, left my personal info off of here.

I feel like that’s pretty comprehensive, actually. I love that there is a spot for a photo. I feel like it’s a great “just in case” feature. I also LOVE that I can add files and profiles.

I would say that this is a must have for ANYONE with a medical condition. It’s a great way to keep basic, necessary medical files and info in one place (for everyone!) It’s sporty design is durable, great for everyday use, isn’t too great for cocktail parties (black dress and plastic medical alert bracelet? not so much), but is sure to suit your every day needs. If plastic-y material isn’t your thing, there are a lot of really pretty ones (including this one that I love!) on the website that are more delicate, yet still keep the USB functionality.

This bay boy sells for 29.95USD on Elegant Medical Alert’s website.

 

9 thoughts on “This CARE USB Bracelet Is Probably the Coolest Thing I Own…. Medically. (A Review!)

    • I know the feeling! I highly recommend this one. Check out the website on the review (I’m almost certain I posted the link where you can buy them). best 30 bucks you’ll ever spend, I swear! If you do get it, make sure to let me know how you like it!

  1. I ordered one for myself and another formy friend … I’ve been asked about this product by everyone who sees it ! Including my doctor’s office staff ! Haven’t had to use it , thankfully ! But I feel much safer knowing that anything the medical team that would be helping me will have all the correct information on me. I have Dystonia and not many people know what it is , including medical professionals.

    • I agree with you! I love the reassurance that comes with knowing you have your medical history actually ON you! I love mine because I don’t look like the “type” to have type 2 diabetes. It’s just great!

  2. Pingback: Vacationing With Babies | MommaBetic.... It's Just Too Sweet to Pass Up.

  3. I have had this braclet for almost a year now. I wear it all time. As a nurse, I get all kinds of questions about it, which I am happy to answer. I have worn mine while swimming on the river & the ocean. I have tie dyed shirts &the painted with it. It still stays waterproof & works great. I love it!

    • I would be lost without mine. the strap that goes around the usb part JUST broke on mine (thanks to my toddler), but I still wear the heck out of it!

  4. The benefit of a medic alert bracelet is to quickly provide paramedics with your medical information in the event that you are unable to speak for yourself. Having to plug this into a computer adds another step and would delay paramedics in providing you with prompt, possibly life-saving treatment. My suggest would be for everyone to purchase a simple bracelet and wallet card.

  5. We are about to start our KickStarter GoGoMedic project, and believe you might be interested in our lifesaver device.

    If you like it, we will be glad to send you 2-3 samples of the finished project (if the campaign is successful),
    for your review and giveaway.

    You can read about it on KickStarter:

    I’d appreciate your feedback!

Leave a Reply

