Marching to their own beats: Walking babies.

There’s so much research online about when babies walk, crawl, eat, drool, poop; whatever. My thing is: why not just go with instinct? I mean moms know, they do. Even when they don’t think they know, they know. It’s some unsaid, unknown force of the universe that keeps moms from screwing up their kids too badly. But of course, there are exceptions to the rule.

Like my kid.

Harper crawled sometime between 4 and 5 months, Haley not until 7 or 8. When we saw Harper pulling up on to things shortly after, standing on her own, and taking a daring leap-step here and there we all thinking “this kid is gonna walk any day now.”

No.

Harper has been “ready to walk any day now” for freakin’ months. What the hell, kid? Just do it already. Just… shit or get off the pot already(if you were potty trained, that is).

ANYONE who knows me in real life knows I’m disgustingly competitive. I try to hide it, I really do, but I’m awful at it. That being said, I was totally jealous that kids born right around Harper’s birthday (my niece, Sophia, for example, was born the next day) because they started walking already. Then I realized, ah what the hell, I already have a kid that walks, why do I want two? Because I’m a competitive jerk, that’s why. And I think if it were any other kid, I’d be totally mad, instead I’m excited Mom and Dad (they’re so proud) and LOOK HOW CUTE THIS KID IS.

My adorable niece, Sophia!

My adorable niece, Sophia!

I’ve conceded, finally, to the fact that my kid is too stubborn to walk when I want her to, so I just gave up wanting her to. Reverse psychology on my 10 month old is a great idea, I know.  And yeah, I know, she’s only 10 months old, but when she’s been “days away from walking” for over a month, I decided I’m freakin’ over it.

Haley didn’t walk until shortly after her first birthday, I think it was around 13 months when she started doing it well and consistently  but she was far ahead of Harper in vocabulary and communication skills. My theory is that they will excel at one or the other: motor skills OR verbal skills, but not usually both.

“…most babies take their first steps sometime between nine and 12 months and are walking well by the time they’re 14 or 15 months old. Don’t worry if your child takes a little longer, though; many perfectly normal children don’t walk until their 16th or 17th month.”

From BabyCenter, read the rest of that article here.

I’m curious, when did your little one take their first steps?

 

Leave a Reply

