Finally! Stress and Diabetes Explained.

I was perusing my blogs this morning and I came across a type 2 diabetes blog that I follow and the featured image was the word “STRESS” with lightning bolts or something all over it – it was flashy and got my attention. Being a mom (a tightly wound mom) I know a bit about stress, believe me. Naturally, I was interested. What I found was awesome!

All diabetics know that stress raises your numbers…. but do you know why? I didn’t. I do now. Check out this excerpt from Solutions For Type 2 Diabetes:

 I found a great explanation by Stacy Wiegman(yet another pharmacist at http://www.sharecare.com) about what stress does:

“There are several ways that stress may affect your blood sugar levels. Stress induces the well-known fight-or-flight response, in which your body increases its levels of certain stress hormones. These, in turn, cause a rise in the amount of sugar in your blood, where it’s available to be used by your cells as fuel. If your body doesn’t have enough insulin or can’t use the insulin it has in order to get that blood sugar into your cells, your blood sugar levels remain high. Stress may also indirectly increase your blood sugar levels by causing you to abandon your good habits.

When stressed, you may not eat well or exercise regularly, or you may drink more alcohol. These habits can cause your blood sugar levels to rise. In addition, you may not take time to check your blood glucose levels as often when you are stressed, so you may not be aware of the effects that the stress is having on your blood sugar levels. If you feel that stress is affecting your diabetes, talk to your doctor.”

Now, the second half of that I knew, but the first part? Definitely not. I feel a little bit better actually knowing WHY stress makes my numbers go up. I don’t know that it will make me any less stressed, but at least I know what’s going on inside my body, which is enough for me!

Hopefully this helped clear the water for some of my other fellow diabetics with full plates. I mean really, who ISN’T stressed? Maybe we should try to curb it so we can control our numbers better? Maybe.

Something to think about.

 

2 thoughts on “Finally! Stress and Diabetes Explained.

  1. Based on this theory, I should be in a diabetic coma by now. As soon as I leave the house in the morning I am stressed, and it doesnt stop til I get home. And my job isnt really that bad; it is all the other a-holes on this planet that stress me, from the moron texting in the car, or the one taIlgating me, or the jackass that just cut me off, etc. And then I get to work, aka “the island of misfit toys”…LOL

    • I don’t think there’s a correlation between the amount of stress you experience and how much your blood sugar goes up, I think it’s more that stress affects the blood sugar in general. I’m not sure that more stress means more of an increase, but rather, any reasonable amount of stress will raise your blood sugar marginally. I don’t have the numbers on this one, I’d have to do more research.

Leave a Reply

