2013, A White Lie for Christmas, and why I Made the Naughty List.

First off, Merry Christmas to those of you celebrating! Eh, Happy New Year too, in case I don’t get on here before then. Now that we’ve made it through the apocalypse, 2013 should be cake walk. I mean really, nothing makes a year more stressful than impending doom.

I have been seeing a lot “I hope 2013 is better than 2012 was” posts. Well now, posting a picture of those words on your Facebook, Instagram, or Twitter page or whatever isn’t gonna do crap for you. 2013 will be better for me because I will make it that way. Yours will be better too, if you quit whining and start doing. You know… “life is what you make it”, “reap what you sow”, and so on.

Back to Christmas. One of the best “gifts” I got this year (maybe not FOR Christmas, but AROUND Christmas) is a lie, a fake-out, a commitment. How can it be? Well, I’ll explain (mostly).

I have been struggling these last few months. With my weight and with my diabetes, specifically. I don’t mind the diet, but I don’t like having to follow it. I come from a long line of diabetics, but know none my age. Even on here, I have readers my age, I have diabetic readers (t1 and t2 alike), but I have seen no other young people with t2 diabetes and to be honest, it feels isolating.

I would be flat-out lying if I said it didn’t bother me that everyone I grew up with and  met along the way gets to go out and have a few at a bar and I don’t go with them. I mean yeah, the kids thing also thwarts my apparent plans to be a raging alcoholic(?), but I can’t get a baby sitter for my diabetes. That being said, I’m not big into the party scene anyway, I’m less upset that I’m missing out (though I’m almost benefiting) than I am about missing out because I can’t. I’m interested if there are any others out there who can relate.

Enough of that whiny shit. My best friend is taking the plunge. She is totally going diabetic with me. The diet, the crappy restrictions, no cheating, no nothing. To help me. It’s awesome. I feel more accountable for my diet and exercise. If you don’t have to face the “Willie Brims” (that’s short for Wilford Brimley, the public face of diabeetus”), you don’t get it. Though, I guess there are other people who can relate out there who HAVE to shy away from foods (gluten, etc.), you guys know it sucks. But to have someone do it with you, well it makes it suck less. And THAT’S why she ave me one of the best gifts I could get for Christmas (or anytime really).

Now, for the Naughty List. I DEFINITELY sucked Christmas up, I admitted that in my most recent post. But I realized, after my Christmas crazyness died down, that among the (lacking) stocking stuffers, there were none for hubs. I mean there’s ONE, little one. A lonely thing just chilin in there. And wouldn’t you know, Walmart actually CLOSED on Christmas Day this year. (good for the people who work there though, it’s nice not to miss loved ones on Christmas) So basically, hubbs is screwed on the stocking this year. That’s how it goes, I suppose. I didn’t do much for the kids’ stockings either, Haley got a bunch of little Hello Kitty things and Harper got some puffs and stuff (she’s a baby, what do you put in a baby’s stocking?).

I guess that’s the way it goes.

In summary, 2013 is what you’ll make it, my best friend is having a healthy serving of diabeetus with me, and I sucked at Christmas this year, and that’s just the way it goes.

Merry Christmas, everyone!

 

One thought on “2013, A White Lie for Christmas, and why I Made the Naughty List.

  1. I wouldn’t say you sucked at Xmas this year; everyone is very happy with their presents, especially the little ones! Cut yourself some slack, kid…

Leave a Reply

