Halloween and Diabeetus: Resisting the Temptation.

I feel like Halloween is one of those bittersweet holidays for me (and probably a lot of other people too). Think about it, it’s kicks off the holidays, reminds us that it’s about to be cold as hell pretty soon, really, REALLY, kicks off the fall season, provides us with delicious candy AND….. there’s delicious candy.

Candy…. mmm…. candy. If you’re like most people I know, you fill some dumb dish with bags of candy in September and pretend to tell people it’s for the trick-or-treaters and you aren’t going to eat it (we don’t believe you, by the way). Or, you go buy a few bags of candy somewhere around the 28th because you don’t want too much sitting in the house or “you might be tempted”. You might be one of those “but I’m trying to watch my figure” people, eating only a piece here and there until, by some crazy act of God, the bag is gone and you’re laying on the bad, sucking in your gut trying to zip up those jeans (don’t worry, Thanksgiving and Christmas are right around the corner if you aren’t quite there yet). Me? Well I’m buying one or two bags of candy for the few kids we do get, loading up on almonds, and hoping for the best.

Almonds are going to be my Halloween coping mechanism, I think. I do love them. You can grab a handful and go to town while the kids are shoving their faces into piles of candy. Halloween is always a toss-up for me. I KNOW there’s ZERO chance that I’m not gonna have any candy, that’s unrealistic. As far as I can see, there’s no reason to trade a kidney for a bag of fun-size Snickers, either.

Anyone have any good ideas for making Halloween and diabetes work with each other? Almonds sound good to me!

 

2 thoughts on “Halloween and Diabeetus: Resisting the Temptation.

  1. Optimally, I would like to think I will stay away from the dreaded “sugar narcosis”, but realistically…nah.

    I WILL allow myself a few pieces (bag???) of Paydays and KitKats, other than that, I plan on the cocoa covered almonds (also),as well as dried fruit pieces. I am trying (and failing miserably) to shed some lbs.’s, so not sure what approach I am going to take. My solution: whatever you do, dont STRESS it, because stress will cause more harm than 1 lb of sugar!

  2. We tried the cocoa almonds this past week and HOLY DELICIOUS! I know it’s not a bag of chocolaty snickery goodness, but… it’s a GREAT substitute!

    I hosted a Halloween party a few years back and one item that I had on the buffet was 7 layer bean dip, but with a top layer of guacamole and then sour cream spider webs drawn on top. Add a couple of black bean ‘flies’ and a spider ring – very cute and tasty with some veggies to dip it up with!

    Good luck to you!

Leave a Reply

