What are you ON?!

Disclaimer: Hey guys, I’m not a doctor. ALWAYS, ALWAYS, ALWAYS talk to your doctor before making any medical decision regarding your diabetes. Also, unless noted, all links are from the US. National Library of Medicine.

I want to take a sidestep from my recent mom entries and head over to the ‘betic part of my blog.

There’s not too much going on here for T2’ers, so naturally, there’s not a lot on here about oral meds (as opposed to insulin shots). See T1 people, we (t2’s) get the pleasure of grabbing some oral meds before we go over to Syringe  City. Well, first, they tell us to control it with “diet and exercise”. Let me tell you, that’s BULL. That works for a while, but as soon as I got pregnant again, it was Syringe City for me and now that “diet and exercise” crap is over.

The drug of choice for type 2 diabetes seems to be Metformin. I took Metformin for a little while and ended up with terrible stomach pains (a common, yet unpleasant side effect). I talked to my endocrinologist after 3 months of being on it and he decided to have me try Glumetza, which is a branded form of Metformin. When he first said something about it, I sort thought he was full of it, but apparently Glumetza is a branded form of Metformin designed for people who had stomach discomfort on generic Metformin. Interesting!

Glumetza is like a miracle for people who hate feeling like their stomach is being ripped out every time they take Metformin (like me). I also notice better control over my sugar and therefore better glucose readings AND a better A1c. WIN!

Let me take just one quick second to explain oral meds v. injectables. See, the reason that Type 1 diabetics can’t go with orals is because (VERY basically) orals tell at the pancreas to step up its game and kick up the production of insulin. Type 1 diabetes is a complete inability to produce insulin, so taking a pill that tells the pancreas to kick up its game is silly, since the pancreas isn’t even playing anymore. Type 2 diabetics CAN produce insulin, just not enough and not at the right times. (think: that one kid in gym class who just sat there and never went for the ball [type 2] vs the kid that sat out every day[type 1]) When your pancreas just doesn’t want to play anymore (more advanced type 2) or can’t (type 1), it’s time to move over to injectable insulin. Obviously, this is just manually providing your body with a synthetic version of what the pancreas produces to metabolize sugars. Hey – if you want something done right, you gotta do it yourself!

Bottom line is: I highly recommend Glumetza for type 2 diabetics who are having some annoying gastric upset on regular Metformin. It IS a little more expensive, since it’s not a generic, but the manufacturer does offer a discount plan for people prescribed the drug. (Glumetza obviously didn’t ask me to write this or anything, guys.)

Hope you enjoyed your diabetes lesson of the day! As always, leave a comment with your experience with diabetes meds, oral or injectable, OR with your experience fending off medication with diet and exercise!

PS, I’m thinking about looking into being some sort of diabetes educator or something, anyone have any idea on how to go about that?

2 thoughts on “What are you ON?!

  1. I have been fortunate enough to take the Metformin HCL (time-relaesed)with a glimeperide backup for a few years now with no stomach problems whatsover…My ECR MD (same as yours, Em)had me take 2 time release in the evening vs one in the am and 1 in the pm, and damned if it didnt help get a grip on my morning readings which historically were always in the mid to upper 140’s (vs afternoon readings of 99-110). If the current meds start to offer GI side effects, then I will def consider this verion of the Metformin.

    • Just wanted to comment on your blog. I loved the way you explained the differences between type 1 and type 2 diabetes. Very clever!

      I am a co-blogger on wordpress for a blog devoted to type 2 diabetes, if you’d like to take a look. http://solutionsfort2diabetes.com/

      The main blogger, Phil, is a type 2 diabetic who has managed to control diabetes through exercise, eating better, and medication. He has been blogging about his successes and lessons he’s learned along the way. And I am providing weekly blogs about the different medications we use to control type 2 diabetes (I’m a pharmacist).

      Thank you for sharing your journey with us! I posted about metformin a few weeks ago, but didn’t focus on Glumetza. You are right, there are not many blogs out there for Type 2, so it’s nice to find a blog that focuses on the different meds we can use. Thanks for “sharing with the class.”

      Good luck in your fight against the “enemy” diabetes!!!

Leave a Reply

