The Battle of the Bulges.

Harper is teething. It’s terrible. Like, horrible, terrible. I mean I know every kid does it, but ugh, not every kid does it to me. Even as I write this, I am falling asleep due to weeks of 4 hours of broken sleep a night. What the hell?!

I tried to look into why teething sucks so badly, but it seems like no one REALLY knows. (sorry about that guys, this was going to be a really interesting post!) There is so much conflicting information on the web, between doctors, and from moms, that it’s no wonder why people are going crazy trying to fix an age-old problem. Now, the new thing is not to give the kids Orajel or any other topical benzocaine gels, so look into that if you are up for handing over the Orajel. Doctors and dentists are unwilling to agree on symptoms of teething. The only thing I can tell you with absolute certainty, after researching on the intent, is that all babies teethe eventually.

No help? Yeah, me either. I feel like I need an explanation as to why my sweet little girl, who never really fussed or cried and always slept well, has joined the dark side. She slept so little last night, that now, at 7:24 in the morning. She has gone down for a nap. I will say that teething, like every other cranky-inducing milestone, is the first test of patience and resilience. And you thought labor and delivery were bad… that’s just the beginning!

Anyone got ideas for teething that don’t include giving my baby alcohol?

 

One thought on “The Battle of the Bulges.

  1. well that leaves me out of the equation…my mothers’ generation put a tiny bit of brandy on the enflamed gums and it worked; not sure if it worked because the kid (me!) caught a buzz and nodded off, or if it topically numbed the area.
    Why no orajel now? Who is the kook that came up with that one? Both you and Jay had plenty of it, and look at you guys…ok, no orajel. LOL

Leave a Reply

