My D bag!

Yeah, that’s right…. and I thought putting “baby bath salts” in my post title was going to get views, just wait.

So, during a short back and forth comment session on thediabetesgame, something that had been bouncing around my noggin finally hit me: there are pretty much no type 2 blogs on here. Tons of really good type 1 blogs, but when I search for type 2 blogs, I come across health news blogs full of crap I don’t care about. It’s good to be queen of witty type 2 blogging! Anyway, The guy that posts on this blog, Dan, said that he doesn’t know too much about type 2 diabetes. It downed on me: with so many type 1 blogs on here, I bet there’s not too many people who know a lot about type 2. I explained a little in my previous post but I also pulled that off an old blog from before I knew I was type 2 and did my research. While I’m not about to get into the good stuff (you’ll just have to read my previous post), I will put type 2 diabetes into a reasonable comparison with type 1 (T1’ers, I know you follow me, feel free to yell if I screw this up).

The best way for me to put this is exactly as I did in a comment,

“I don’t know that doctors are up for telling you [being on insulin] “inevitable”, but it’s pretty much the last stop on the D-train.”

That’s one of the big differences, in my eyes, is that I get to wait around, hoping that my diabetes doesn’t get to the point where I need insulin injections (been there, done that!), even though because I was diagnosed young, it most likely will.

“Type 2 is like diabetes Lite and a waiting game. Eventually I’ll end up shooting some insulin again like type 1′ers, but we get more time to adjust to the idea. “

I’m certainly not complaining, my diabetes means that I HAVE to be at least somewhat in shape (hello, motivation!). Without diabetes, I wouldn’t be able to whip my D bag out of my purse and make people feel uncomfortable! While I’m on the topic of my D-bag, I’d like to discuss it for a moment. Mine is a mess. It’s super handy though. I’m sportin’ a fancy Bayer Contour USB (complete with purple silicone sleeve) and some rockin’ multi-colored lancets. I have to say that I favor this lancing system over the One Touch Ultra Mini, it hurts less. The ability to plug my meter in and see how badly I’ve screwed up my diet is just super as well.

While I’m on the topic of fancy D bags, let me just pop a link on here to Stick Me Designs. It’s like a fashionable haven for T1’ers and T2’ers to come and grab awesome looking bags for all your meters, strips, insulin, pens, anything. I don’t know about anyone else, but I have had one hell of a time trying to find a bag that is not the boring black/dark grey bag of doom that screams “I’m a meter!”. Being as fashionable as I am, I need a bag that doesn’t look like crap; something neon! They run super sales too…. definitely worth clicking that link.

I wanna know about your D bags! What are you sportin’?

image

6 thoughts on “My D bag!

  1. Being hypoglycemic, I don’t carry my meter around (I’m lucky for that, right?) But honestly, I have the terrible black I’m-the-cheapest-onetouch-meter-out-there bag. But that’s okay because it sits in the bathroom collecting dust, waiting for my sugar to go crazy.

    • I guess if I didn’t have to carry my meter around, I wouldn’t care either. Stick Me Designs puts out these clutches that hold all your meter/diabetes stuff AND room for wallet stuff and phone too. I want one, I want one, I want one!

  2. Good site! I truly love how it is easy on my eyes and the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified when a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your RSS feed which must do the trick! Have a nice day!

  3. Nice post! It did make me realise how messy I am though with my Diabetes stuff. I’ll have to take a picture and post about it. I’ve been sat here thinking of what I should post so it seems the only idea I’ve got now is one that will put me to shame! 😉 Also Stick Me Designs looks pretty cool! Good find! 🙂

    • No way! Come clean about your d bag! 😀 I HAVE to keep mine clean because I use it at the gym and I don’t want to freak people out with used test strips… I do have another back up one that is an absolute disaster because it doesn’t leave my nightstand. I have been trying to think of something to post about as well. Of course, a few extra hours in the day to write one wouldn’t be too bad! SMD looks awesome! As soon as I can get my hands on one of those bags, I will be writing a review and a half… after I’m done strutting my new bag all over the place!

Leave a Reply

